AICCU is comprised of over 80 independent, nonprofit colleges and universities, which make up the Independent California Colleges and Universities (ICCU) sector. AICCU institutions are located throughout the state with 27 main campuses located in Northern California and 57 main campuses located in Southern California.

The ADT Commitment is the Independent California College and University sector’s adaptation of the ADT pathway. The Associate Degree for Transfer (ADT), also known as the Degree with a Guarantee, is a transfer pathway articulated between California Community Colleges (CCC) and the CSU and now participating AICCU institutions. 

The Cal Grant program was created in 1955 to provide state grants to qualified California high school graduate attending independent, nonprofit colleges and universities. The partnership between California with ICCU colleges and universities seeks to efficiently use the state’s tax dollars by leveraging capacity in the independent, nonprofit sector to educate California students.


Of undergraduates who attend independent, nonprofit institutions in California: